The Election, Obviously

I am neither bold nor brave. I rarely voice my political opinion, as when I was younger I was quickly shut down by my family. I posted a few things on Facebook when the campaign was still new, but quickly removed them as stupid fights would often break out over something I had posted.

I am neither bold enough nor brave enough to talk to my family or friends about my political views. Politics has never been civil, and those that state otherwise need to go take another history class. We will not all agree on how the country should be run.

I have been on and off Facebook today, and all I can do is shake my head.

Not because Trump won, but because of the way grown adults are acting.

Threatening to move to another country because your preferred candidate did not win is like telling your parent you are going to ignore them because they refused to buy you ice cream. Your parent is America and you are the bratty kid throwing a fit because you are not getting what you want. Do you really think America cares if you leave? Chances are, America does not. As a matter of fact, America would be happy for you to leave so when Trump runs for re-election, that will be less votes against him.

No. I would not have voted for Trump. I would have voted for Clinton because I agree with more of her policies than I agree with Trump policies. (Unfortunately between classes, projects, and work I was unable to vote this year.) I did not choose Hilary because she would have been the “first woman president”.

You see how I worded that? That is how an informed, grown person makes a decision on who they would have or would not have voted for.

I also do not agree with the way Trump displayed himself in front of the media. People call it “telling it the way it is” or “speaking his mind”. I call it being rude, loud, and obnoxious. I understand if he disagrees with the way certain things are being run. What I do not understand is why he has to be so violent in his speeches.

There are many other things I do not agree with when it comes to Trump, but those can be saved for a later post. What is important is to understand that Donald Trump is now the President of the United States of America.

You can be disappointed all you want, but isn’t that a part of life? Isn’t that what adults have been teaching us for years? That disappointment is going to come and we just have to get over it and move on? Well, no one is going to remove Trump from the presidency just because half of the population is disappointed.

One of the posts I have seen floating around Facebook something along the lines of “Trump did not win. Racism won. Sexism won. Hate won. Lack of education won.” There are a few variations on this post, but all suggesting that the ideals that Trump stands for are new or have become more prevalent.

These ideals have always been there. As someone who has grown up in the South, I can assure you they have always been there, and most likely will always be there. It is up to the people, not the president, to change the way other races, sexes, sexuality, religions, and foreigner are looked at.

I understand that the president is looked to lead the people and viewed as an example. Will the fight be harder? Probably. But if there is anything I have learned as an American, it’s that we will always fight for what we believe in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

